A Life of Death: Episode 5 – 8


Obtained from:  Author on April 10, 2014
Get yours:      here, from Amazon
Author:         Weston Kincade
Genre:          Fiction – YA
Format:         Kindle
Reviewer:       Charlie Kravetz
Stars:          5/5

This review is for the Kindle edition ebook.

Disclosure: I was given my copy of this book by the author as a review copy.

Mystery, abuse, courage, and suspense all need to come together to make this coming of age story work.

Parts 5,6,7, and 8 of 12 parts, this continues the story of Alex. More deaths of those Alex is close to, which he can not stop. Romance blossoms between Alex and Paige, and they grow up. Episode 7 takes us into the life of the adult Alex Drummond, now a detective on the Police force. The visions continue, and Detective Drummond must now try to solve a series of murders that have plagued his home town for 15 years. An old friend, Jessie, becomes involved, creating new challenges.

Death, as all humans know, is inevitable. However, when it happens to those close to us, it is very difficult to understand. As children and young adults, we must learn to overcome the thoughts that make us feel responsible for the death of a family member. I am glad to see the author tackle this difficult subject.

I was pleasantly surprised at the jump in years that happens in episode 7. We do all grow up eventually. How we learn to deal with the challenges of life does determine who we become, and sometimes it really is overwhelming. This story evolves through the challenges of teenagers into adulthood, which can be very traumatic.

While Weston Kincade does write to entertain the reader, and succeeds at that goal, he has other motives. He tries to give a touch of guidance to teenagers and parents struggling to understand the issues they are going through. Sometimes, we, as humans, can identify with a character and it will help us get life right today.

I can easily recommend this series to teenagers and their parents. We are all different, and for some, this series will simply be great entertainment. For others, it may serve to remind them they are not alone. I will continue reading this series.